ما هي الصناعات الاستخراجية؟

البرلمانات والصناعات الاستخراجية

قطاع الصناعات الاستخراجية: فرصة للتنمية

تساهم قطاعات النفط والغاز والتعدين بدرجة كبيرة في عائدات الحكومة، وكذلك إجمالي الناتج المحلي والصادرات في البلدان الغنية بالموارد. على الرغم من هذه الفرصة للتنمية، إلا أن الكثير من البلدان الغنية بالموارد تخفق في استخدام قطاع الصناعات الاستخراجية لتنمية اقتصادية واجتماعية أوسع، ما يؤدي إلى معدلات فقر أعلى، وفي بعض الحالات إلى صراع. أحياناً يشار إلى هذا بـ "لعنة الموارد".

يمكن أن تؤدي البرلمانات دوراً هاماً في تحسين حوكمة قطاع الصناعات الاستخراجية. وتعد وظائفها الثلاث الأساسية - التي تمثل مصالح التأسيسية، التشريع، والإشراف على السلطة التنفيذية - حيوية لتحسين الحوكمة وإدارة الموارد. وذلك لأن المشرعين هم المسؤولون عن ضمان أن الحكومة تخصص الإيرادات بشكل مناسب، لفحص التحصيل الحكومي والإنفاق من الإيرادات، وتنفيذ التشريعات والسياسات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتولى البرلمان "سلطة جباية الضرائب وانفاقها" (السيطرة على النفقات العامة)، ويعطيه صلاحية مراجعة وتعديل والإذن بالميزانيات الوطنية.

 

بوابة الصناعات الاستخراجية

يواجه النواب اليوم حافزاً دولياً قوياً للشفافية والتنمية المستدامة. كما أنهم يواجهون مجتمعاً مدنياً أكثر تنظيماً ومسموعاً على نحو متزايد ويستخدم مجموعة من التقنيات الجديدة لمحاسبتهم. وعلاوة على ذلك، يطلب منهم دعم استغلال الموارد الطبيعية، وفي الوقت نفسه المطالبة بحماية المناخ.

تهدف هذه البوابة إلى تعزيز العمل البرلماني حول الصناعات الاستخراجية عن طريق إعلام ومشاركة وربط جميع الجهات الفاعلة ذات الصلة. ولتحقيق ذلك، تساعد البوابة في التعرف على أفضل الممارسات ونقاط العمل البرلماني للبرلمانيين والموظفين البرلمانيين والممارسين والمسؤولين الحكوميين والمجتمع المدني. ويتمثل الهدف الأسمى في الوصول بالبرلمان إلى مقدمة الصدارة في هذه العمليات السياسية، والتوصل إلى إدارة شفافة ومسؤولة ومستدامة لقطاع الموارد الطبيعية.

بدعم من مجموعة البنك الدولي، تُتاح البوابة باللغات الإنجليزية والفرنسية والعربية وسُتطلق قريباً باللغة البرتغالية. تستند البوابة إلى أربعة مجالات موضوعية:

1) العمل البرلماني: يركز هذا القسم على ثلاث مهام رئيسية للبرلمان تتمثل في سن القانون والتمثيل والرقابة، وكذلك إقرار الميزانية. يستكشف هذا القسم الخطوات الملموسة التي يمكن للبرلمانات إتخاذها لتعزيز إدارة الصناعات الاستخراجية.

2) مشاركة المواطن: تهدف استراتيجيات مشاركة المواطن إلى إيجاد حلقة وصل بين البرلمانات والشعوب التي تمثلها. ويهدف ذلك إلى إرشاد البرلمان إلى تنفيذ سياسات أكثر استنارة وفعالية وسريعة الاستجابة، ولتنفيذ أفضل لوظيفته الرقابية.

3) الشفافية والبيانات العلنية: تعتبر زيادة الشفافية عبر سلسلة القيمة بأكملها أمر بالغ الأهمية لتحسين إدارة قطاع الصناعات الاستخراجية. سيكشف هذا القسم مجموعة من القضايا المتعلقة بالشفافية ومكافحة الفساد، بما في ذلك مبادرة الشفافية في مجال الصناعات الاستخراجية والعدد المتزايد من مبادرات "البيانات العلنية".

4) صناديق الموارد الطبيعية: فيما يتعلق بصناديق الموارد الطبيعية (NRFs)، للبرلمان دور بالغ الأهمية يتجاوز مجرد مهمة الإشراف على الحكومة. سيستعرض هذا القسم ليس فقط الأنظمة التشريعية التي تحكم الموارد الطبيعية، ولكن دور البرلمان في العمليات السياسية التي تشكل تلك القرارات.

تلبي هذه القضايا الأربع الاحتياجات المتغيرة للبرلمانيين من خلال توفير المعلومات والموارد ونقاط العمل ذات الصلة بأعمالهم اليومية. لمزيد من التعليقات والأسئلة، يُرجى الاتصال بفريق أغورا على الموقع الإلكتروني: info@agora-parl.org.

"تُعتبر المهام الثلاث الرئيسية للبرلمان، والتي تتجسد في تمثيل المصالح التأسيسية، والتشريع والإشراف على السلطة التنفيذية،  أمراً حاسماً لتحسين السيطرة على الموارد وإدارتها."

Error message

The file could not be created.

Parliaments & Extractive Industries

The extractive industries sector: an opportunity for development

The oil, gas and mining sectors contribute significantly to government revenues, GDP and export in resource-rich countries. Despite this opportunity for development, many resource-rich countries fail to use the extractive industries sector for wider economic and social development, resulting in higher poverty rates and, in some instances conflict. This is sometimes referred to as the 'resource curse'.
 
Parliaments can play an important role in improving governance of the extractive industries sector.  Its three core functions – representing constituent interests, legislating, and overseeing the executive branch – are crucial to improving the governance and management of resources. This is because legislators are responsible for ensuring that the government allocates revenue appropriately, for scrutinising the government's collection and expenditure of revenue, and for implementing legislation and policies. Additionally, parliament holds the 'power of the purse' (control over public expenditures), giving it the authority to review, amend and authorise national budgets. 
 
 

The Extractive Industries Portal

Today’s MPs are confronted with a strong international push for transparency and sustainable development.  They also face an increasingly organized and vocal civil society that uses a range of new technologies to hold them to account.  Moreover, they are asked to support the exploitation of natural resources, while at the same time being called upon to protect the climate.  
 
The aim of this Portal is to strengthen parliamentary work on extractive industries by informing, engaging and connecting all relevant actors. To do so, the Portal will help identify best practices and parliamentary action points for parliamentarians, parliamentary staff, practitioners, government officials and civil society. The overarching objective is to help bring parliament to the fore of these political processes, and arrive at transparent, responsible and sustainable governance of the natural resource sector.  
 
Developed with the support of the World Bank Group, the Portal is available in English, French and Arabic and will soon launch in Portuguese.  It is built around four thematic areas:
 
1) parliamentary action: This section focuses on parliament’s three key functions of law-making, representation, and oversight and budgeting.  It explores what concrete steps parliaments can take to strengthen extractive industries governance.  
 
2) citizen engagement: Citizen engagement strategies aim to connect parliaments with the people they represent.  They do so with the aim of positioning parliament to deliver more informed, effective and responsive policies, and to better carry out its oversight function.
 
3) transparency & open data: Increased transparency across the entire value chain is critical to improved governance of the extractive industries sector.  This section will explore a range of issues pertaining to transparency and anti-corruption, including the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative and the growing number of ‘open data’ initiatives.  
 
4) natural resource funds: With regard to natural resource funds (NRFs), parliament has a very important role to play that goes well beyond its task of overseeing the government. This section will review not just the regulations that govern NRFs, but the role of parliament in the political processes that shape those decisions. 
 
These four issue areas cater for the changing needs of parliamentarians by providing information, resources and action points relevant to their daily work.  
 
For comments and questions, please contact the AGORA team at info@agora-parl.org