الرقابة البرلمانية ومكافحة الفساد

صورة AGORA administrator

الرقابة هي واحدة من المهام الرئيسية الثلاث للبرلمان.  بالاستعانة بمختلف الأدوات، يضطلع البرلمان بمهمة رصد أنشطة السلطة التنفيذية بالحكومة لضمان تنفيذ القوانين الصادرة والأموال التي خصصها البرلمان تنفيذاً كاملاً ودقيقاً.  أما فساد المسؤولين الحكوميين فهو الوسيلة الرئيسية التي يتم من خلالها تحويل الأموال عن الغرض الذي حدده البرلمان، كما يمكن أن يؤدي أيضاً إلى التطبيق غير المتكافئ أو غير الفعال لأحد القوانين أو أكثر.

تتمثل الوسيلة الرئيسية التي يمكن من خلالها للبرلمان مراقبة أعمال السلطة التنفيذية في اللجان البرلمانية.  ويجب أن تتمتع جميع اللجان بالصلاحيات والسلطة المحددة التي تتيح لها المطالبة بتقديم الأدلة وطلب شهادة المسؤولين الحكوميين ووثائق الاستدعاء.  ومن خلال إجراء جلسات الاستماع والتحقيقات الروتينية أو الاستثنائية يجب أن يكون لدى اللجنة معرفة قوية بما يحدث في جوانب الحكومة الواقعة في إطار اختصاصها. 

يجب أن تكون للجان المتخصصة، كالحسابات العامة أو لجنة الموازنة، علاقة خاصة بالمدقق العام وربما موارد إضافية للتحقيق في الكيفية التي يتم بها إنفاق الأموال داخل الحكومة.  وغالباً ما يرأس هذه اللجنة نائب من المعارضة لضمان كونها أكثر اجتهاداً في جهودها لمراقبة الحكومة.

كذلك يمكن للنواب الوصول إلى أدوات أخرى للتحقيق في نشاط الحكومة.  يشمل ذلك فترات طرح التساؤلات وطلبات الإحاطة للسماح باستجواب الوزراء حول مزاعم أو قضايا محددة.

وللقيام بمثل هذا العمل على نحو فعّال، يجب على النواب إشراك منظمات المجتمع المدني التي ترصد أيضاً النفقات والأنشطة الحكومية.  ولابد أن تتمتع منظمات المجتمع المدني هذه بالمعرفة والخبرات الخاصة بما يمكن أن يدعم عمل البرلمان.

Error message

The file could not be created.

Parliamentary Oversight and Combatting Corruption

AGORA administrator's picture

Oversight is one of the three primary functions of a parliament. By the use of various tools a parliament has a duty to monitor the activities of the executive branch of government to ensure the laws passed and the funds allocated by the parliament are fully and accurately implemented. Corruption by government officials is a key means by which funds are diverted from the purpose intended by parliament and can also result in the unequal or ineffective application of one or more laws.

The main means by which a parliament monitors the work of the executive is through parliamentary committees. All committees should have the specific powers and authority to call evidence, demand testimony from senior government officials and subpoena documents. By conducting routine or extraordinary hearings and investigations a committee should have a strong knowledge of what is occurring in the aspects of the government under its purview.

Specialised committees, such as a Public Accounts or Budget Committee will have a special relationship with the state auditor and perhaps extra resources to investigate how funds are being spent within the government. It is often chaired by an opposition MP to ensure it is more diligent in its efforts to monitor the government.

MPs have access to other tools as well to investigate government activity. These include question periods and interpellations to allow for the questioning of Ministers about specific allegations or issues.

In order to do such work effectively, MPs must engage CSOs that also monitor government expenditures and activities. These CSOs will have special knowledge and expertise that can support the work of the parliament.

For more information on parliamentary function of oversight, please click here.