صناعة الدستور

صورة AGORA administrator

الدستور هو القانون الأساسي الذي تستند إليه كافة القوانين الأخرى للبلد وتتطابق معه.  إن الدستور هو التحديد الأساسي المكتوب (وغير مكتوب أحياناً) لخاصية البلد وبنية الحكومة في هذا البلد.

ومشاركة المشرّع مباشرة في صياغة وتبنّي دستور أمة هي فرصة نادرة وذات اعتبار.  لكن هناك اتجاه متنامي في وجوب أن يكون الممثلون المتخبون مشاركين بنشاط في إعداد هكذا وثيقة أساسية.

تجري صياغة الدستور غالباً في ظل ظروف استثنائية مثل استقلال أمة أو بعد ثورة أو انتقال سياسي من حكومة ذات شكل معيّن الى حكومة من شكل آخر.  وتعديلات الدستور مألوفة أكثر، لكن يجب القيام بأي تغيير للقانون الأساسي بعناية فائقة.

إن الجانب الحرج لصياغة الدستور يكمن في الحرص على أن تعكس الوثيقة اهتمامات الأغلبية الساحقة لمواطني البلد.  ويجدر بالدستور أن يعتمد على إجماع وأن تعكس الوثيقة مجموعة مبادئ يستطيع جميع مواطني البلد الموافقة عليها.  كما يجدر بالدستور أن يتعالى عن السياسة المنحازة ويحدد شروط الحكومة والتفاعل التي يجب على أي حزب أو جماعة سياسية أن تلتزم بها.

ثمة وسائل مختلفة لصياغة الدستور بما فيها المشاركة المباشرة للمواطنين وفريق عامل معيّن من الخبراء وهيئة ممثلين منتخبة.  وفي ما يتعلق بالهيئة المنتخبة، بوسع دورها أن يكون محدوداً أو نشطاً جداً ويتضمن:

·                   التبني -  حيث يصوغ فريق عامل صغير أو وزارة حكومية الدستور ويجري كافة الاستشارات ويقدم مسودة نهائية للبرلمان بهدف الموافقة عليها.

·                   الاستشارة – يتم توفير مسودة دستور لهيئة دائمة أو مؤقتة التي يكمن دورها في إجراء استشارات عامة والسعي الى الحصول على مساهمة المواطنين ومنظمات قبل اقتراح تعديلات على الوثيقة.

·                   الصياغة -  إن البرلمان سواء أكان دائماً أو مؤقتاً، هو مسؤول عن إعداد صياغة الدستور.  ويجدر بالجمعية إما قبل و/أو بعد صياغة الوثيقة، أن تسعى للحصول على مساهمة الشعب من خلال استشارات.  وتكون الموافقة على الوثيقة النهائية من مهام الجمعية أو قد تتطلب إجراء استفتاء.

وفي مجال التنمية البرلمانية، من المسلم به عموماً أن يحدد مواطنوا الأمة محتوى الدستور.  غير أن ثمة جانبين للعمل حيث يمكن توفير الدعم للقدرات.

أولاً، حيث تم اتخاذ قرار لإنشاء جمعية تأسيسية، يمكن توفير الدعم في تنمية المؤسسات المؤقتة.  إن الجمعية التأسيسية هي هيئة تؤدي دور البرلمان لكن تفويضها الأساسي يكمن في إعداد وتبني دستور، وينتهي تفويض الجمعية ما أن تتم الموافقة على الدستور.  وبوسع الجمعية أن تكون برلماناً مؤقتاً  قائماً بحد ذاته أو لجنة فرعية لبرلمان دائم.  كما يمكن أن تكون الجمعية منتخبة ومعيّنة بكامل أعضائها أو مزيجاً من النظامين،  وثمة اتجاه متنامي لأن يكون أعضاء الجمعية منتخبين.  ويشمل الدعم أيضاً الدعم  المؤسسي العادي الذي يتم توفيره لأي برلمان كإنشاء أمانة عامة ولجان فعالة وصياغة النظام الداخلي.

ثانياً، يركز الدعم غالباً على الاستشارات العامة.  رغم أن الجمعية التأسيسية قد تكون منتخبة وبالتالي أعضاؤها مختارون كي يمثلوا المواطنين، فإن إجراء مناقشات عامة في موضوع محتوى الدستور يشكل دوماً فكرة سديدة.  وكلما توسع نطاق الاستشارات كلما اعتبر مواطنوا البلد الوثيقة شرعية أكثر.  إضافة الى ذلك،  هناك الكثير من الخبرات التي يمكن الاستعانة بها لجعل الوثيقة افضل وتشمل هذه الخبرات بدءاً من المواطنين العاديين وصولاً الى القانونيين والأكاديميين ومنظمات المجتمع المدني.

Error message

The file could not be created.

Constitution-making

AGORA administrator's picture

A constitution is the fundamental law upon which all other laws of a country are based and must conform. The constitution is the written (sometimes unwritten) basic definition of the character of a country and the structure of the government in that country.

It is a relatively rare and prestigious opportunity for a legislator to be directly involved in the drafting and adoption of a nation’s constitution. But there is a growing trend that elected representatives should be actively involved in the development of such a crucial document.

The writing of a constitution often occurs under exceptional circumstances, such as the independence of a nation or after a revolution or political transition from one form of government to another. Amendments to a constitution are more commonplace, but any change to the fundamental law of a country must be done with great care.

A critical aspect of constitution writing is to ensure the document reflects the interests of the vast majority of the citizens of a country. A constitution should be based on a consensus and the document should reflect a set of principles that all citizens in a country can agree upon. A constitution should be above partisan politics and should define the terms of government and interaction by which any party or political group will respect.

There are various means by which a constitution can be drafted including direct participation by citizens, an appointed working group of experts and an elected body of representatives. With regard to an elected body, its role can be limited or very active, including:

Adoption – Where a small working group or a government ministry writes the constitution and conducts all consultations and submits a final draft to a parliament for approval.

Consultation – A permanent or temporary assembly is provided with a draft of a constitution and its role is to conduct public consultations and seek input from citizens and organizations before suggesting amendments to the document.

Drafting – The parliament, either a permanent or temporary one, is directly responsible for developing the wording of the constitution. Either before and/or after the drafting of the document, the assembly should seek public input through consultations. Approval of the final document can rest with the Assembly or a referendum may be required.

In the field of parliamentary development, it is generally understood that the content of a constitution is to be determined by the citizens of the nation. However, there are two aspects to the work in which capacity support can be provided.

First, where a decision has been made to create a Constituent Assembly, support can be provided in the development of the temporary institution. A constituent assembly is a body that acts like a parliament but has as its main mandate the creation and adoption of a constitution. Once the constitution is approved the assembly’s mandate ends. An assembly can be a stand-alone temporary parliament or can be a sub-committee of a permanent parliament. An assembly can be fully elected, fully appointed or a mix of the two systems. Though there is a growing trend towards elected assembly members. Support includes the normal institutional support that would be provided to any parliament, such as the development of a secretariat, the establishment of effective committees and the drafting of rules of procedure. For more information on constituent assembly, please click here.

Second, support is often focused on Public Consultations. Even though a constituent assembly may be elected and, therefore, the members are chosen to represent the citizens, it is always a good idea to conduct extensive public discussions about the content of the constitution. The greater the extent of the consultations, the greater the legitimacy of the document with the citizens of a country. Furthermore, there is much expertise that can be drawn upon to make the document better, including from average citizens, jurists, academia and CSOs. For more information on public consultation in the constitution-making process, please click here.