منظمات الرصد البرلماني

صورة AGORA administrator

تتزايد مطالب المواطنين بمساءلة قادتهم السياسيين والبرلمانات ليست مستثناة من هذه الحركة.  فالبرلمان هو المؤسسة الحكومية التي يحق للمواطنين مساءلتها مباشرةً، ولكن نظراً لدورها في تمثيل مصالح المواطنين وسن القوانين والإشراف على السلطة التنفيذية، تزايد اهتمام المواطنين وإدراكهم لمدى فعالية عمل البرلمان.   ولتعزيز مشاركة المواطنين في العمل البرلماني وفهمهم له، نشط عدد متزايد من المجموعات الشعبية في مجال رصد البرلمانات وتقييم أدائها ومهامها وتطوير وسائل جديدة لتمكين انخراط المواطنين في العمليات البرلمانية.

 

أظهر تقرير نُشر عام 2011 من قبل المعهد  الديمقراطي  الوطني (NDI) ومعهد  البنك  الدولي (WBI)بعنوان: تعزيز  المساءلة  البرلمانية وانخراط المواطن  و حصوله على المعلومات:  مسح    للمراصد   البرلمانية،  أنّ هناك قرابة 200 مرصد برلماني ترصد أكثر من 80 برلمان وطني في كافّة أنحاء العالم.  ووفقاً لمسح هذه المراصد البرلمانية والمقابلات مع مسؤولي المراصد البرلمانية ومجتمع التنمية الدولي، تشير الوثيقة إلى أنّ المراصد البرلمانية "وعدت بتعزيز عددٍ من مكوّنات الحكم الديمقراطي بما في ذلك مسؤولية البرلمانات تجاه الناخبين وانخراط المواطن في العمليات التشريعية والحصول على معلومات عن البرلمانات وأعمالها."    وتقوم منظمات الرصد البرلماني بوضع مجموعة متنوعة من الأدوات المبتكرة والفعالة لرصد مهام البرلمان وأدائه، ودعم المبادرات الإصلاحية التي تهدف إلى تعزيز التنمية الديمقراطية للمؤسسة البرلمانية.   وفيما يلي وصف لبعض الأمثلة على مبادرات المراصد البرلمانية.   ويمكن الحصول على معلومات عن مراصد برلمانية محددة في "أطلس المراصد البرلمانية" على موقع أغورا. 

تطوير تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات

من بين المراصد البرلمانية التي شملها تقرير المعهد الوطني الديمقراطي ومعهد البنك الدولي، حوالي 40% منها تستعمل تكنولوجيات معلومات واتصالات متقدّمة تُعرف بالـ" المعلوماتية البرلمانية".  تسمح هذه الأدوات للمراصد البرلمانية بتجميع وتنظيم المعلومات من المواقع الإلكترونية للبرلمانات ومن مصادر المعلومات الأخرى، وبإنشاء وسائل بصرية مثل خرائط التمويل السياسي أو الجداول الزمنية لأنشطة البرلمانيين.  كما تستخدم المراصد البرلمانية هذه الأدوات لتسهّل تواصل المواطنين ونوّاب البرلمان ولإشراك زوّار الموقع الإلكتروني في عمليّة رصد النوّاب أو في تحليل السياسة. 

 

 
 

غيمة الكلمات التي طورها Regards Citoyens من أجل NosDeputes.frلمراقبة البرلمان الفرنسي يسمح للزوار بالبحث في جميع التعليقات والتصريحات للبرلمانيين حول مواضيع مهمة.

 

دعم المبادرات الرامية إلى تعزيز الإصلاح البرلماني الديمقراطي

بالرّغم من ازدياد استعمال المعلوماتية البرلمانية، إلا أن المراصد البرلمانية تهدف إلى دعم الإصلاح البرلماني من خلال إشراك البرلمانات مباشرةً.  قام معهد  باكستان   للتنمية  التشريعية   والشفافية (PILDAT)بحشد البرلمانيين والموظفين البرلمانيين وأبرز الصحافيّين والأكادميين وغيرهم من أجل تقييم أداء الجمعية الوطنية لباكستان  من خلال استخدام مجموعة أدوات  التقييم الذاتي  للبرلمانات التي طوّرها الاتحاد البرلماني الدولي. .    وطُلب من المشاركين تقييم  أداء الجمعية الوطنية على مقياس من 10 نقاط من خلال الإجابة على أسئلة متعلقة بستة أقسام في مجموعة أدوات الاتحاد البرلماني الدولي.  ونصّ التقرير النهائي: "حالة الديمقراطية في باكستان:  تقييم برلمان 2008-2009"، على النتائج والتوصيات الصادرة عن المشاركين لتحسين فعاليّة البرلمان.  وهدفت النشاطات المشابهة للمراصد البرلمانية إلى دعم إصلاح الديمقراطية البرلمانية بما في ذلك التوعية حول قضايا الإصلاح البرلماني والاستجابة إلى طلبات الحصول على المعلومات من البرلمان أو البرلمانيين حول مواضيع تشريعية محدّدة وحتى اقتراح قواعد سلوك للنوّاب.

 

تحسين الشفافية البرلمانية والنزاهة

تعتبر مسألة الحصول على المعلومات البرلمانية واحدة من أكثر التحديّات المشتركة التي تواجهها المراصد البرلمانية، وهي مشكلة تحدّ قدرتها في المساعدة على إشراك المواطنين في العملية التشريعية.   فنقص المعلومات على المواقع الإلكترونية البرلمانية، مثل سجلّات التصويت والمناقشات، يقلّل قدرة بعض المراصد البرلمانية على استخدام التكنولوجيا التى أثبتت فعالية في مساعدة المواطنين على فهم المعلومات البرلمانية والانخراط بشكل فعّال مع البرلمانيين.   وحتى عند توفّر هذه المعلومات، لابدّ من نشرها في صيغ مقروءة آليّاً كي تكون مثل هذه الأدوات مفيدة.  فإنّ محدوديّة الحصول على المعلومات البرلمانية قد تؤدّي إلى استخدام طرق أقلّ فعاليّة لمراقبة الأداء البرلماني لدى المراصد البرلمانية التي لا تستخدم المعلوماتية.

وقد لجأت المراصد البرلمانية إلى حلول مبتكرة لتذليل هذه العقبات،   مثل اعتماد مقاربات فعّالة لزيادة الشفافية، ويقضي ذلك بتوقيع المرشّحين لعضويّة البرلمان على وثيقة الحكم الرشيد والتي تكون بمثابة تعهّد عام منهم على تحسين الشفافية البرلمانية  والنزاهة في حال انتخابهم.   ونجح مركز القدس للدراسات السياسية من خلال المرصد البرلماني الأردني في الحصول على تواقيع المرشّحين للانتخابات النيابية لعام 2010 على اتفاقية يتعهّدون فيها بوضع مدوّنة لقواعد السلوك البرلمانية في حال انتخابهم.   وقد تم وضع مؤشر إقليمي للشفافية البرلمانية بجهد مشترك من "مؤسسة شراكة" (Corporación Participa) في تشيلي، ومؤسسة سلطة المواطن" Fundación Ciudadanoفي الأرجنتين و"عمل المواطن"  AcciónCiudadana  في غواتيمالا، وذلك لاختبار الشفافية البرلمانية من خلال تقييم مفاهيم الحصول على المعلومات والمحاسبة في أربعة مجالات (تضمّ 62 متغيّراً) من عمل السلطة التشريعية.   وبناءً على هذا العمل، طوّرت الشبكة الأميركية اللاتينية للشفافية التشريعية والتي تضمّ 15 منظمّة من الأرجنتين وتشيلي والمكسيك والبيرو أدوات لتقييم الحصول على المعلومات بشأن الميزانية البرلمانية والانفاق والأنظمة المتعلّقة بممارسة الضغط والبيانات المالية وإعلان الاهتمام

 

شبكة أميركا اللاتينية للشفافية البرلمانية
http://www.transparencialegislativa.org

المراصد البرلمانية وأغورا ((AGORA))

اكتسبت المراصد البرلمانية معرفة قيّمة وخبرة واسعة تتعلّق بالبرلمانات والأعمال البرلمانية من خلال أعمال الرّصد ودعم الإصلاح البرلماني.   وحتى الآن وعلى الرّغم من المقاربات المبتكرة التي وضعتها المراصد البرلمانية للرصد على الإنترنت أو من دون الإنترنت، يقف النقص في فرص التواصل على الصعيد الدولي عائقاً أمام تبادل هذه الممارسات والخبرات.  وتسعى"أغورا"  إلى تسهيل التفاعل وتبادل المعلومات بين المراصد البرلمانية وبينها وبين مجتمع التعزيز البرلماني الأوسع.   ويمكن للمراصد البرلمانية مراسلة شبكة "أغورا" للتمكّن من الوصول إلى "المنبر الخاص" Trusted Area))  وإلى مجموعة  الرصد الداخلي وهي بمثابة منتدى للتواصل بين المراصد البرلمانية ومركز معلومات حول الرصد البرلماني.

Error message

The file could not be created.

Parliamentary Monitoring Organisations

AGORA administrator's picture

The Parliamentary Monitoring Organization Leaders Conference will be broadcast live on this page from April 30th - May 2nd 2012.

To help provide a platform for cooperation among PMOs, the Sunlight Foundation, the Latin American Network for Legislative Transparency, NDI, WBI, the Embassy of Mexico in the United States, and the National Endowment for Democracy are co-hosting a two-and-a-half-day conference in Washington, D.C., for global PMO leaders.  The conference seeks to foster discussion on international strategies for improving access to parliamentary information on the national level, including a transparency 'pledge' for parliaments, which is available for comments on the AGORA Trusted Area now.  To take part in this discussion, please contact info@agora-parl.org.  

The conference will also provide an opportunity for PMOs to share good practices for monitoring parliamentary transparency, discuss collaborative ideas for addressing common challenges, and explore engagement in international fora to raise awareness of PMOs and their work.  

 

 

Live broadcast by Ustream

Parliamentary Monitoring Organisations

Citizens are increasingly recognizing the importance of parliaments due to their roles in representing citizen interests, lawmaking, and overseeing the executive.  To strengthen citizen engagement in and understanding of parliamentary work, a growing number of citizen-based groups are becoming active in monitoring parliaments, assessing their performance and functioning, and developing new ways to enable citizen participation in parliamentary processes.

According to a 2011 publication by the National Democratic Institute (NDI) and the World Bank Institute (WBI), Strengthening Parliamentary Accountability, Citizen Engagement and Access to Information: A Global Survey of Parliamentary Monitoring Organizations, nearly 200 parliamentary monitoring organizations, or “PMOs”, are presently monitoring more than 80 national parliaments worldwide. Drawing on a survey of these PMOs, as well as interviews with PMO leaders and the international development community, the publication finds that PMOs have “shown promise in strengthening a number of components of democratic governance, including the accountability of parliaments to the electorate, citizen engagement in the legislative process and access to information about parliaments and their work.”  PMOs are developing a variety of innovative and effective tools for monitoring parliamentary functioning and performance, and supporting reform initiatives aimed at strengthening the democratic development of the parliamentary institution.  Some examples of PMO initiatives are described below.  Information on specific PMOs and the work they conduct can be found in AGORA’s PMO Atlas

Developing Information and Communications Technologies

Among the PMOs surveyed for the NDI and WBI report, around 40 percent have adopted the use of advanced information and communications technologies, known as “parliamentary informatics”. These tools allow PMOs to automatically aggregate and organize information from parliamentary websites and other information sources, and generate visualizations, such as political finance maps or timelines of MP activities. PMOs also use these tools to facilitate citizen-MP communications and to engage website visitors in the monitoring of MPs or analysis of policy.

 

A word cloud developed by Regards Citoyens for NosDeputes.fr, which monitors
the National Assembly of France, allows visitors to instantly search all of the
available comments made by an individual parliamentarian on important issues.

 

Supporting Initiatives to Promote Democratic Parliamentary Reform

Although the use of parliamentary informatics is on the rise, many PMOs aim to support parliamentary reform by engaging parliaments directly. The Pakistan Institute of Legislative Development and Transparency (PILDAT), has gathered parliamentarians, parliamentary staff, prominent journalists and academics, and others, to evaluate the performance of the National Assembly of Pakistan using the Inter-Parliamentary Unions Self-Assessment Toolkit for Parliaments.  The participants were asked to rate the National Assembly’s performance on a range of questions related to six sections of the IPU‘s toolkit using a 10-point scale. The final report, State of Democracy in Pakistan: Evaluation of Parliament 2008-2009, states the results and recommendations developed by participants to improve the parliament‘s effectiveness. Other common PMO activities aimed at supporting democratic parliamentary reform include testifying on parliamentary reform issues, fulfilling information requests from parliament or individual MPs on specific issues or legislation, and even proposing MP codes of conduct.

Improving Parliamentary Transparency and Integrity

One of the most common challenges faced by PMOs is limited access to parliamentary information, a problem that limits their capacity to help engage citizens in the legislative process.  The lack of information on parliamentary websites – such as voting records and floor speeches – reduces the ability of some PMOs to use technologies that have proven effective in helping citizens understand parliamentary information and engage productively with parliamentarians.  Even when this information is available, it must be posted in machine-readable formats for such tools to be useful. For PMOs that do not use informatics, limited access to parliamentary information may cause the use of less effective means for assessing parliamentary performance.

PMOs have employed a range of creative solutions to try to overcome these obstacles.  One effective approach to increasing transparency involves enlisting the support of parliamentary candidates to sign a good governance pledge that serves as a public commitment on the part of the candidate, if elected, to improve parliamentary transparency and integrity.  The Al-Quds Center for Political Studies, which operates the Jordanian Parliamentary Monitor, used Jordan‘s 2010 elections to secure candidate signatures on an agreement that included a pledge to develop a parliamentary code of conduct once elected.  The Regional Index of Parliamentary Transparency, which was a joint effort by Corporación Participa (Chile), Fundación Poder Ciudadano (Argentina), and Acción Ciudadana (Guatemala) to test parliamentary transparency by assessing the concepts of access to information and accountability along four dimensions (comprising 62 variables) of work in which the legislature is involved.  Building on this work, the Latin American Network for Legislative Transparency, which includes 15 organizations from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru, has developed tools to gauge the availability of parliamentary budget and expense information, lobbying regulations, and financial statements and declarations of interest.

 

Latin American Network for Legislative Transparency
http://www.transparencialegislativa.org/

 

PMOs and AGORA

Through their monitoring activities and support for parliamentary reform, PMOs have gained a wealth of knowledge and expertise related to parliaments and their functioning.  Yet, despite the innovative approaches developed by PMOs for both online and offline monitoring, the sharing of these practices and experience has been hindered by a lack of international networking opportunities. AGORA seeks to facilitate interaction and information sharing both among PMOs, and between PMOs and the broader parliamentary strengthening community.  PMOs can email the AGORA network administrator for access to the trusted area and AGORA’s internal parliamentary monitoring group, which serves as a forum for networking among PMOs and as a resource center on parliamentary monitoring.