صياغة المشاريع البرلمانية وتنفيذها

صورة AGORA administrator

بعد تحليل السياق السياسي الذي يعمل فيه البرلمان، يجب أن يُصمم المشروع الداعم للبرلمان بحيث يناسب السياق ويدعم الإصلاحات.  وهناك بعض الخطوات الحاسمة لهذه العملية التي تعكس دورة حياة البرنامج أو المشروع.

 

            تقييم الاحتياجات

 

تقييم الاحتياجات هي عملية يتم من خلالها استعراض وبحث الاحتياجات والتحديات التي يواجهها البرلمان على نحو معمّق.  وليتسم هذا التقييم بالمصداقية، يجب أن يتم في الغالب بشكل شخصي وبالتعاون مع فريق من الخبراء التقنيين من ذوي المعرفة المتبصرة بالسياق الوطني لأعمال البرلمان والمعايير الدولية وأفضل الممارسات.  وقد يكون التقييم عاماً بحيث يستعرض جميع جوانب عمل البرلمان أو قد يركز على مواضيع محددة مسبقاً تتعلق بجوانب من عمل البرلمان (على سبيل المثال - تكنولوجيا الاتصالات والمعلومات وسن التشريعات وانخراط المواطنين).

 

وبمجرد تحديد موضوع تقييم الاحتياجات، هناك العديد من الأدوات التي يمكن استخدامها لجمع المعلومات والبيانات والمعرفة.  وهي تشمل:

 

·        المراجعة المكتبية للوثائق:  ومن الممكن الانتهاء منها قبل بدء العمل القطري.  وهي تتمثل في استعراض الوثائق الهامة التي تحدد سلطة البرلمان وقدراته ويمكن أن تشمل دستور البلاد والنظام الداخلي للبرلمان وخطة التطوير المؤسسية وسجلات الجلسات ولوائح الموارد البشرية والتقارير الإعلامية و تقارير اللجنة.

·        المسوح:  استخدام الاستبيانات لجمع وجهات نظر أكبر عدد ممكن من البرلمانيين والموظفين.  ويسمح ذلك بإجراء نوع كمي من البحوث وبفهم وجهات نظر تلك الجهات التي قد لا تكون لها أدوار قيادية داخل البرلمان.

·        المقابلات:  ويسمح ذلك بإجراء مناقشات متعمقة مع الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية داخل البرلمان، بما في ذلك ممثلي جميع الجماعات البرلمانية وأمانة البرلمان.

·        مجموعات التركيز: إن جمع مجموعات صغيرة من أصحاب المصلحة التي تعمل في البرلمان أو معه (على سبيل المثال - منظمات المجتمع المدني ووسائل الإعلام والموظفين) يتيح جمع المعلومات بطريقة فعالة مع السماح بإجراء مناقشة بين الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية.

 

وبمجرد جمع البيانات والمعلومات، فمن المهم التحقق من صحة أية نتائج مع الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية للسماح بمزيد من التوضيح.  ويتمثل الهدف النهائي في وضع سلسلة من التوصيات، استناداً إلى المعلومات التي تم جمعها، من شأنها أن تشكل الأساس لمشروع لدعم البرلمان.

            صياغة المشروع

 

الخطوة الأولى في صياغة أي مشروع هي تحديد النتائج العريضة التي يُتوقع الانتهاء منها بحلول نهاية المشروع.  وينبغي أن تكون هذه النتائج طموحة ولكن واقعية في الوقت نفسه.  كما ينبغي أن تكون واضحة وموجزة.  وبمجرد تحديدها، يجب تحديد المخرجات والأنشطة المحددة لتحقيق النتائج.  وتمثل تلك المخرجات والأنشطة تفاصيل الكيفية التي سيتم بها تحقيق النتائج.

 

ينبغي أن تتضمن وثيقة المشروع أيضاً مؤشرات - بعضها يعكس خط الأساس وأخرى طموحة - للسماح برصد وتقييم المشروع وقياس النتائج.  وينبغي أن تتضمن الوثيقة وصفاً واضحاً للكيفية التي سيتم بها تنفيذ المشروع، بما في ذلك الترتيبات الإدارية والتكاليف والاستراتيجية والمدخلات المطلوبة.  كما ينبغي أن يخطط المشروع لخطط العمل السنوية التي تحدد الأنشطة التي سوف تتم على أساس سنوي للمضي قدماً في تحقيق النتائج بشكل عام.

 

تعتمد العديد من المشاريع على توظيف موظفين فنيين محليين ودوليين بدوام كامل ممن لهم خبرة ودراية بتنفيذ مثل هذه المشاريع، إلى جانب بناء قدرة موظفي البرلمان والبرلمانيين.

 

 

            تنفيذ المشروع

 

تعتمد برامج الدعم البرلماني على مجموعة من الأنشطة والنُهُج تبعاً للسياق واحتياجات برلمان معين.  ففي بعض الحالات، قد تعمل برامج الدعم مع موظفي البرلمان على تعزيز فعالية اللجان البرلمانية، بينما في حالات أخرى، قد تعمل مباشرةً مع النواب لتعزيز قدراتهم على الوصول إلى المواطنين.  ومن بين الطرق العديد للعمل مع البرلمانات:

1. النهج الجامع:  المبادرات متعددة الأحزاب هي وسيلة غير تمييزية لدمج الأحزاب السياسية الحاكمة والمعارضة في برامج التعزيز البرلماني.  ويمكن أيضًا أن تعمل مثل هذه المبادرات على ضمان مشاركة المعارضة في المناقشات الحساسة سياسياً؛

2. التأكيد على المعايير الدولية:  يمكن غالباً تجنب المشاكل المحتملة فيما يتعلق بملكية البرامج من خلال التأكيد على المعايير الدولية.  يمكن لهذه الاستراتيجية أن تساعد في تقليل اتهامات بأن جهة مانحة معينة تفرض أولوياتها على المؤسسة البرلمانية؛

 

3. يمكن للتعاون فيما بين بلدان الجنوب والتعاون الإقليمي أن يكون مفيداً لزيادة الانخراط في عوامل التنمية البرلمانية: ويمكن لربط أهداف التنمية البرلمانية المحلية بالبرامج الإقليمية أن يساعد على زيادة الوعي الوطني بالتحديات المؤسسية ونقاط الضعف التي تواجه البرلمان. وينبغي إيلاء الأولوية لضمان أن تشتمل البرامج على تبادل المعلومات والخبرات بين البلدان التي اضطرت إلى معالجة قضايا تنموية مماثلة.  يلقى الدعم الإقليمي ترحيباً في معظم البلدان وغالباً ما يقدم حلولاً حقيقية تم اختبارها في حالات مماثلة.


قد تتضمن الأنشطة التي تجريها برامج الدعم البرلماني، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، ما يلي:

1. اللجان البرلمانية:  تعمل البرامج مع العاملين باللجان لتحسين قدراتهم على صياغة التقارير وإجراء التحليلات الرامية إلى تحسين فهم النواب لعمل اللجان.  يمكن أن يشمل ذلك إجراء المشاورات العامة واعتماد أدوات لتوحيد تقارير اللجان وأتمتة وتوحيد العمليات الثابتة الأخرى؛

2. الرقابة: تُشرك البرامج النواب والعاملين في عمليات لقياس احتياجاتهم ووضع توصيات تهدف إلى تحسين ممارسات الرقابة، مثل شكل جلسات الأسئلة والأجوبة،

3. بناء القدرات:  البرامج قد تدعم تدريب النواب و/أو موظفي البرلمان لإدخال أدوات الرقابة على الميزانية أو تحليل السياسات.  كما أنها قد تعقد الاجتماعات والمناقشات العامة حول القضايا الهامة للمساعدة على إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على هذه المهارات؛

4. التوعية ومشاركة المواطنين:  قد تعمل البرامج مع الخدمات الإدارية المسؤولة عن توعية المواطنين أو تعقد اجتماعات المائدة المستديرة التي تتيح الفرص للمواطنين لمناقشة قضايا السياسة العامة مع ممثليهم.  كما أنها قد تدعم الجهود الرامية إلى تطوير مكاتب دوائر النواب الانتخابية في مواطنهم؛

5. البنية التحتية:  قد تعمل البرامج مع الإدارات البرلمانية لتحسين الخدمات، مثل إدخال الانترنت عالي السرعة أو تنفيذ خدمات جديدة، مثل محاضر جلسات البرلمان (النسخ الحرفي) أو نظم التصويت الإلكتروني؛

6. عمليات الإصلاح: قد تعمل البرامج مع اللجان التي أنشئت للتوصية بإدخال عمليات الإصلاح و/أو تنفيذها، مثل إصلاحات القواعد الداخلية البرلمانية وتحديث اللجان ومبادرات أخرى مماثلة.
 

 

 

            الرصد والتقييم

 

لا شك أن وضع مؤشرات للمشاريع وأنظمة للمراقبة من بداية البرنامج هو أفضل وسيلة لتحقيق قياسات دقيقة لنتائج برامج التنمية البرلمانية. ويمكن للرصد أن يكون أيضاً فعالاً نسبياً من حيث التكلفة إذا تم دمجه في استراتيجيات التعاون التقني طوال فترة تنفيذ المشروع. ويشمل الرصد الفعال استخدام مختلف الأدوات التي يمكنها قياس أثر ونجاح الأنشطة والمخرجات مع تقدمها.  قد يشمل ذلك مسوحات المشاركين والمقابلات قبل المغادرة والجلسات غير الرسمية لإبداء الآراء مع فرق المشروع وموظفي البرلمان.  وينبغي الانخراط في حوار رسمي بين موظفي المشروع وزعماء البرلمان على أساس سنوي.  كذلك يجب إجراء التقييمات الرسمية والمستقلة في منتصف عمر المشروع وفي نهاية مدته.

Error message

The file could not be created.

Project Formulation and Implementation

AGORA administrator's picture

Having analysed the political context in which a parliament operates, a project in support of the parliament must be designed to fit the context and to support reforms. There are some crucial steps to such a process that reflect the life cycle of a programmme or project.

Needs Assessment

A Needs Assessment is a process by which there is an in-depth review and research of the needs and challenges facing a parliament. To be credible, such an assessment must be done mostly in person and with a team of technical experts that have both a strong knowledge of the national context in which the parliament works and international standards and best practices. An assessment can be general and review all aspects of a parliament's work or can focus on pre-determined themes related to portions of the parliament's work (e.g. – ICT, law-making, engagement with citizens).

Once the subject of the needs assessment has been determined, there are several tools that can be used to gather information, data and knowledge. These include:

  • Desk Review of Documents: This can be done before the in-country work commences. This is a review of the crucial documents that define the authority and capacity of a parliament and can include the constitution of the country, the rules of procedure for the parliament, a corporate development plan, records of sessions, human resource regulations, media reports and committee reports.
  • Surveys: The use of questionnaires to gather the perspective of as many parliamentarians and staff as possible. This allows for a quantitative form of research and to gain an understanding of the views of those actors who may not have leadership roles within the parliament.
  • Interviews: This will allow in-depth discussions with key actors within the parliament, including representatives from all parliamentary groups and the secretariat of the parliament.
  • Focus Groups: The gathering of small groups of stakeholders that work in or with parliament (e.g. – CSOs, media, staff) enables the gathering of information in an efficient manner while allowing for a discussion amongst key actors.

Once the data and information is gathered it is important to validate any findings with the key actors to allow for further clarification. The eventual goal is to develop a series of recommendations, based on the information gathered, that will form the basis of a project to support the parliament.

The Governance Assessment Portal aims to be a hub of information and a valuable entry-point on democratic governance assessments. It seeks to provide UNDP staff, national counterparts and the wider community of stakeholders with information on:
  • tools for assessing governance
  • existing initiatives for measuring democratic governance at the national, regional and global level
  • how to measure governance with regard to specific areas of governance such as corruption or local governance
  • how to use global indicators more correctly
  • opportunities to connect and share knowledge with other practitioners and experts.
 

 

Project Formulation

The first step in formulating a project is to define the broad outcomes that are expected to be completed by the time the project ends. These outcomes should be aspirational but also realistic. They should also be clear and concise. Once identified, the specific outputs and activities to achieve the outcomes must be defined. The outputs and activities are the details of how the outcomes will be achieved. The project document should also include indicators – both baseline and aspirational – to allow for the monitoring and evaluation of the project and to measure results. The document should include a clear description of how the project will be implemented, including management arrangements, costs, strategy and required inputs. The project should plan for annual work plans that define the activities that will take on an annual basis to advance the achievement of the overall outcomes.Many projects employ full time national and international technical staff that has experience and expertise to implement such projects and to build the capacity of parliamentary staff and parliamentarians.

 

Project Implementation

Parliamentary support programmes draw from an array of activities and approaches depending on the context and needs of a given parliament. In some instances, support programmes may work with parliamentary staff to bolster the effectiveness of parliamentary committees, while in other instances, they may work directly with MPs to strengthen their outreach capacities to citizens. Several aApproaches to working with parliaments include:

  1. Inclusive approach: Multi-party initiatives are a non-discriminatory means of incorporating ruling and opposition political parties into parliamentary strengthening programs. Such initiatives can also function to ensure opposition participation in politically sensitive discussions;
  2. Emphasizing international standards: Potential problems regarding programmed ownership can often be avoided by emphasizing international standards. This strategy can help minimize accusations that a particular donor is imposing its own priorities on a parliamentary institution;
  3. South-South and regional cooperation can prove useful for increasing engagement on parliamentary development factors: linking local parliamentary development goals to regional programmes can help increase national awareness of institutional challenges and weaknesses facing a parliament. A key priority should be to ensure that programmes involve sharing information and expertise among countries that have had to address similar development issues. Regional support is well received in most countries and often provides real solutions that have been tested in similar situations.

Activities conducted by parliamentary support programmes may include, but are not limited to, the following:

  1. Parliamentary committees: Programmes work with committee staffers to improve their capacities to draft reports and conduct analyses to enable them to effectively support aimed at improving MPs as the committee conducts its work . understanding of committee work . These may include conducting public consultations, adoption of tools for the standardization of committee reports and automation and standardization of other routine processes;
  2. Oversight: Programmes engage MPs and staffers in processes to gauge their needs and develop recommendations aimed at improving oversight practices, such as the format of question and answer sessions;
  3. Capacity building: Programmes may support trainings for MPs and/or parliamentary staff to introduce budgetary oversight or policy analysis tools. They may also convene meetings and public discussions on important issues to help institutionalize these skills;
  4. Outreach and citizen participation: Programmes may work with the administrative services responsible for citizen outreach or hold roundtables that afford citizens opportunities to discuss policy issues with their representatives. They may also support efforts to develop MP constituency offices in their home districts;
  5. Infrastructure: Programmes may work with parliamentary administrations to improve services, such as installation of high speed internet, or implementationing of new services, such as Hansard (verbatim transcription) or electronic voting systems;
  6. Reform processes: Programmes may work with committees established to recommend and/or implement reform processes, such as reforms to parliamentary internal rules, modernisation committees, and other similar initiatives.

 

Monitoring and Evaluation  

Establishing project indicators and monitoring systems from the start of a programme is the best way to attain accurate measurements of the results of parliamentary development programmes. Monitoring can also be relatively cost-effective if it is integrated into technical cooperation strategies throughout the period of project implementation. Effective monitoring includes the use of various tools that can measure the impact and success of activities and outputs as they progress. This can include surveys of participants, exit interviews, and informal feedback sessions with project teams and parliamentary staff. On an annual basis there should be a more formal process of dialogue amongst project staff and parliamentary leaders. Formal and independent evaluations should take place at the mid-point of the life of a project and at the end of the project term. For more information on this subject, please click here.