البرلمانات وفعالية المعونات

صورة AGORA administrator

تحتل البرلمانات موقع الصدارة في دورة المساءلة المحلية. حيثما توفر المعونات الدعم المالي على أساس أطر السياسات المحلية، يكون للجهات المانحة تأثير على صياغة السياسات وعملية التنفيذ. وهذا هو الحال بالنسبة ﻟ 'إقراض سياسات التنمية' ونُهُج المعونة البرامجية وجميع المساعدات التي يتمثل هدفها الصريح في أي نوع من نتائج 'الحكم'. ودون رقابة البرلمانات والهيئات المنتخبة على طبيعة المشاركة في صياغة السياسات على الصعيد دون الوطني، قد تتسبب المعونات في تقويض المساءلة المحلية. وفي هذا الصدد، قام الاتحاد البرلماني الدولي، بالتعاون مع مرفق تنمية القدرات لفعالية التنمية (CDDE)، بوضع  وثيقة مفيدة وهي دليل للبرلمانيين حول دورهم في ضمان فعالية التنمية.

وفي الماضي، أدى انعدام الشفافية فيما يتعلق بالعمليات التي تمولها المؤسسات المتعددة والثنائية الأطراف، فضلاً عن انعدام الشفافية في عملية الميزانية المحلية، إلى تقويض الدور الذي ينبغي أن تضطلع به السلطة التشريعية في جهود المساءلة ومكافحة الفساد. ويُنظر إلى المبادرات الحالية لضمان الشفافية والمشاركة النشطة من جانب البرلمانيين في استراتيجيات المساعدة القطرية، وكذلك في برامج دعم الحد من الفقر، باعتبارها أمراً أساسياً في خلق الشفافية في شؤون السياسة وتخصيص الميزانية وقرارات التنفيذ. وبالنسبة لانتقال معونة الميزانية التي تعتمد بشكل متزايد على العمليات المحلية، تكتسب وظيفة الرقابة والمساءلة للبرلمان أقصى درجات الأهمية. وكانت المساءلة في شأن مساعدات التنمية محدودة أمام دافعي الضرائب في البلدان المانحة، وذلك بسبب طبيعة المساعدات 'الأجنبية' (انظر ورقة المناقشة: الفقر والمعونة الفساد، منظمة الشفافية الدولية، 2007).   

وفي الوقت نفسه، فالمستفيدون في البلدان المتلقية - وخصوصاً حيثما يكون السكان فقراء ومهمشين - بحكم ظروفهم ليسوا في وضع يمكنهم من مساءلة حكوماتهم نهيك عن الحكومات المانحة.  وحتى في الوقت الحاضر، تواجه البلدان التي تعتمد بشدة على المساعدات وضعاً 'مختلطاً من حيث المساءلة'. فليس بمستغرب أن ترفع بعض الحكومات تقاريرها إلى الجهات المانحة الأجنبية وتخضع لمحاسبتها في محافل مثل الفريق الاستشاري الذي يقوده البنك الدولي أو اجتماعات نادي باريس (حول الدين) بتفصيل يفوق ما تقدمه لمواطنيها من خلال الحسابات العامة. يأتي ذلك على خلفية الجهود المبذولة في "المشروطية"، ولا سيما المشروطية الاقتصادية، حيث سعت الجهات المانحة لمساءلة المتلقين. وبات من المسلم به أن المشروطية الاقتصادية، خاصة على النحو الذي كانت تُمارس به في الثمانينات وحتى أوائل إلى منتصف التسعينيات، باعتبارها مساءلة من جانب واحد، تُعد حالياً غير فعالة وغير مرغوب فيها.

إعلان باريس بشأن فعالية المعونة (الملكية والتنسيق والمواءمة وتحقيق النتائج والمساءلة المتبادلة)وبرنامج عمل أكرا (AAA) التالي له، ومنتدى بوسان الرابع الرفيع المستوى بشأن فعالية المعونة (بوسان HLF4) تُعد كلها محطات رئيسية في ترسيخ التزامات الشراكة في إطار المساءلة المتبادلة التي تعترف بأن المعونة الفعالة يجب أن تتواءم مع استراتيجيات التنمية التي تقودها البلدان.  وتهدف المساءلة المتبادلة إلى وضع علاقة المعونة على أساس تعاقدي مزدوج الاتجاه، حيث تلتزم الجهات المانحة بتقديم المعونة الفعالة ويلتزم المستفيدون باستخدام المعونة بشكل جيد.  ولا يمكن تحقيق هذه النتيجة في مجال الحكم إلا من خلال آليات متجذرة في المساءلة العامة كما يوضح الرسم البياني أدناه:

                          

                                                    

 

ويحدد برنامج عمل أكرا التزاماً واضحاً لضمان أن الهيئات التشريعية لن تُنحى جانباً في ممارسة الرقابة على استخدام معونة التنمية ويوافق على توسيع نطاق حوار السياسات بشأن التنمية على المستوى القطري:

سنشارك في حوار مفتوح وشامل بشأن سياسات التنمية.  ونحن نعترف بالدور الحاسم للبرلمانات ووبمسؤوليتها في ضمان الملكية القطرية لعمليات التنمية.  ولتحقيق هذا الهدف سوف نتخذ الإجراءات التالية:

أ) ستتعاون حكومات البلدان النامية بشكل أوثق مع البرلمانات والسلطات المحلية في إعداد وتنفيذ ورصد سياسات وخطط التنمية الوطنية.  كما ستشارك أيضاً منظمات المجتمع المدني.

ب) ستدعم الجهات المانحة الجهود الرامية إلى زيادة قدرة جميع الفاعلين في مجال التنمية - كالبرلمانات والحكومات المركزية والمحلية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني ومعاهد البحوث ووسائل الإعلام والقطاع الخاص - على القيام بدور نشط في الحوار حول سياسة التنمية وحول دور المساعدات في المساهمة في تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للبلدان."

ويعمل منتدى بوسان الرابع الرفيع المستوى بشأن فعالية المعونة  على الإضافة إلى التطورات التي أثمر عنها كل من إعلان باريس وبرنامج عمل أكرا من خلال الاعتراف بالمجموعة المتزايدة من الفاعلين في مجال التنمية وإقامة شراكة عالمية جديدة لاحتضان التنوع والاعتراف بالأدوار المتميزة التي يمكن أن يلعبها جميع أصحاب المصلحة في التنمية:

"ونؤكد من جديد على التزامات كل منا بتوسيع نطاق التعاون الإنمائي [و] سنستهدف زيادة الاستقلال عن المعونة...  وبينما ننشئ شراكة لزيادة وتعزيز نتائج التنمية، فسوف نتخذ إجراءات لتبسيط تأثير المصادر المتنوعة للتمويل والاستفادة منها وتقويتها لدعم التنمية المستدامة والشاملة، بما في ذلك الضرائب وتعبئة الموارد المحلية والاستثمار الخاص والمعونة من أجل التجارة والعمل الخيري والتمويل العام غير الميسر وتمويل تغير المناخ.  وفي الوقت نفسه، هناك حاجة إلى اعتماد أدوات مالية جديدة وخيارات الاستثمار والتكنولوجيا وتبادل المعرفة والشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص.

[...]

تلعب البرلمانات والحكومات المحلية دوراً حاسماً في ربط المواطنين بالحكومة، و أ) تعجيل وتعميق تنفيذ الالتزامات القائمة لتعزيز دور البرلمانات في الإشراف على عمليات التنمية، بما في ذلك من خلال دعم تنمية القدرات اعتماداً على الموارد الكافية وخطط عمل الواضحة؛ ب) مواصلة دعم الحكومات المحلية لتمكينها من الاضطلاع بأدوارها المذكورة أعلاه بشكل كامل والتي تتجاوز تقديم الخدمات، مما يعمل على تعزيز المشاركة والمساءلة على الصعيد دون الوطني."

وهكذا يتضح أن المساءلة المتبادلة حول فعالية المعونة وملكية الدولة وزيادة الشراكة في التعاون والتنسيق هي عناصر أساسية في برنامج عمل المعونة الدولية. 

ويقابل ذلك التركيز على الملكية الوطنية ضغط متزايد على الحكومات من أجل شفافية عمليات الميزانية لشرح وتوضيح أوجه صرف الدعم المباشر للميزانية،

وهذا الضغط الدولي للمساءلة عن الميزانية يفرض مطالب ملحة على الوظيفة الرقابية للبرلمانات لضمان فعالية وشفافية النفقات الحكومية.  ويعتمد نجاح أي استراتيجية للتنمية الاقتصادية على المؤسسات الخاضعة للمساءلة والتي تبادر بالاستجابة.  وحين تضع الحكومات برامج التنمية الخاصة بها، فمن المهم أن تلعب البرلمانات دوراً رئيسياً في تشكيل الاستراتيجيات الاقتصادية والتنمية في بلادها.  فالبرلمانات هي مؤسسات تمثيلية، ومن ثم يمكنها أن تضمن إدراج مصالح طائفة واسعة من المجتمع في المناقشات بشأن المستقبل الاقتصادي للبلد، وإدارة النقاش حول القضايا الخلافية من خلال عمليات اللجان المؤسسية.

ومن المهم أيضا ملاحظة العلاقة بين البرلمان المانح والحكومة المانحة وكذا العلاقة بين البرلمان المانح والشريك أو برلمان البلد المتلقي. 

للمساعدة في تحقيق فعالية المعونة، يجب القيام بجهد، ليس فقط في البلدان المتلقية ولكن أيضاً في البلدان المانحة، إذا أراد البرلمان أن يشارك بنشاط في دورات المعونة المختلفة، من رسم السياسات إلى تنفيذها واستعراضها.  فيجب على البرلمانات المانحة، على سبيل المثال، رصد التزام الحكومة المانحة الفعّال ببرنامج عمل فعالية المعونة والخطوات التي اتخذتها في هذا الصدد.  ويتعين عليها، في جملةأمور، حث الحكومات المانحة بالانخراط في بداية دورة المعونة مع البرلمانات الشريكة، وهو الأمر الذي نادراً جداً ما يحدث.  وتظل برلمانات البلد المتلقي في كثير من الأحيان مهمشة فيما يخص اتفاقات دعم التنمية وتنفيذها، على الرغم من أهميتها بالنسبة للمواطنين. 

وفي البلدان التي لم تصل آليات المساءلة المحلية فيها بعد إلى مرحلة النضج، يمكن للبرلمانات المانحة الدعوة أيضاً إلى تخصيص جزء من المعونة لتعزيز مؤسسات المساءلة المحلية مثل ديوان المحاسبة وآليات التدقيق البرلماني، بما في ذلك المؤسسات العليا للتدقيق ولجان الحسابات العامة - ويكتسب ذلك أهمية خاصة عندما يتم توفير الدعم المباشر للميزانية.  ولا يقتصر الهدف من ذلك على ازدهار الحكم الديمقراطي فحسب، ولكن أيضاً الوصول إلى نتائج أفضل للمعونة وتحقيق الفاعلية والكفاءة في استخدام الأموال العامة من الجهات المانحة.

Error message

The file could not be created.

Parliaments & Aid Effectiveness

AGORA administrator's picture

Parliaments are at the centre of the domestic accountability cycle. Where aid provides financial support based on domestic policy frameworks, donors have an impact on the policy formulation and implementation process. This is especially the case for ‘development policy lending’, programmatic aid modalities, and all aid that has as its explicit aim any kind of ‘governance’ outcome. Without the oversight of parliaments and elected bodies at sub-national levels on the nature of policy engagement, aid is in danger of subverting domestic accountability. In this regard, the IPU, in collaboration with the Capacity Development for Development Effectiveness (CDDE) Facility, has developed a useful guide for parliamentarians on their role in ensuring development effectiveness.

In the past, the lack of transparency with regard to operations funded by multilateral and bilateral institutions, as well as the lack of transparency in the domestic budget process, has effectively undermined the role that the legislature should play in accountability and anti-corruption efforts. Current initiatives to ensure both transparency and the active involvement of parliamentarians in country assistance strategies, as well as in poverty reduction support programmes, are seen as essential to create transparency on policy, budget allocation and implementation decisions. For budgetary aid transfers that increasingly rely on domestic processes, the oversight and accountability function of the parliament cannot be overemphasised. Accountability in development aid has been low vis-à-vis taxpayers in donor countries, due to the ‘overseas’ nature of aid (See Discussion Paper: Poverty, Aid and Corruption, Transparency International, 2007).   

At the same time, beneficiaries in recipient countries – especially where they are poor and marginalised populations – are almost by definition not well positioned to hold their own governments to account, and even less so the donor governments. Even at present, highly aid-dependent countries face a ‘mixed accountability’ situation. It is not unusual for some governments to report and account to their foreign donors in forums such as World Bank-led Consultative Group or Paris Club meetings (on debt) in greater detail than they do to their own citizens through public accounts. This follows on efforts in “conditionality”, particularly economic conditionality, where donors have sought to hold recipients to account. Economic conditionality, particularly as practiced in the 1980s and early to mid-1990s as a one sided accountability, is now recognised as both ineffective and undesirable.

The Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (Ownership, Harmonisation, Alignment, Results and Mutual Accountability), the subsequent Accra Agenda for Action (AAA), and the Busan Fourth High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness (Busan HLF4) are milestones in anchoring the commitments and obligations of partnership within a mutual accountability framework that recognises that effective aid must align itself to country-led development strategies. Mutual accountability aims to place the aid relationship on a two-way contractual basis, where donors commit to providing effective aid and recipients commit to using aid well. This governance result can only be achieved through mechanisms rooted in public accountability as the diagram below demonstrates:

                          

The Accra Agenda for Action sets out a clear commitment to ensure that legislatures will no longer be sidelined in exercising oversight of the use of development aid and agrees to broaden country-level policy dialogue on development:

“We will engage in open and inclusive dialogue on development policies. We acknowledge the critical role and responsibility of parliaments in ensuring country ownership of development processes. To further this objective we will take the following actions:

a) Developing country governments will work more closely with parliaments and local authorities in preparing, implementing and monitoring national development policies and plans. They will also engage with civil society organisations (CSOs).

b) Donors will support efforts to increase the capacity of all development actors — parliaments, central and local governments, CSOs, research institutes, media and the private sector — to take an active role in dialogue on development policy and on the role of aid in contributing to countries’ development objectives.”

The Busan Fourth High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness builds upon the developments of both the Paris Declaration and the Accra Agenda by recognising the widening group of development actors and forging a new global partnership to embrace diversity and to recognise the distinct roles that all stakeholders can play in development:

"We reaffirm our respective commitments to scale up development co-operation [and] we will aim to increase independence from aid... As we partner to increase and reinforce development results, we will take action to faciliate, leverage and strengthen the impact of diverse sources of finances to support sustainable and inclusive development, including taxation and domestic resource mobilisation, private investment, aid for trade, philanthropy, non-concessional publice funding and climate change finance. At the same time, new financial instruments, investment options, technology and knowledge sharing, and public-private partnerships are called for.

[...]

Parliaments and local governments play critical roles in linking citizens with governmnet, and a) accelerate and deepen the implementation of existing commitments to strengthen the role of parliaments in the oversight of development processes, including by supporting capacity development backed by adequate resources and clear actions plans; b) further support local governments to enable them to assume more fully their roles above and beyond service delivery, enchancing participation and accountability at the sub-national levels."

Thus, mutual accountability for aid effectiveness, country ownership, and increased partnership co-operation and co-ordination are increasingly central elements of the agenda for international assistance. 

Corresponding with this emphasis on national ownership is an increasing pressure on governments for transparent budget processes to account for the disbursal of direct budget support.

This international pressure for budget accountability places heightened demands on parliaments’ oversight functions to ensure the efficacy and transparency of government expenditures. The success of any economic development strategy depends on accountable and responsive institutions. As governments develop their own development agendas, it is important that parliaments play a key role in shaping their country’s economic and development strategies. Parliaments are the representative institutions and, as such, they can both ensure that the interests of a broad spectrum of society are included in debates on a country’s economic future, and manage the debate on contentious issues through institutionalized committee processes.

It is also important to note the donor parliament and donor government relationship and the donor parliament and partner or recipient country parliament nexus. 

To help deliver aid effectiveness work needs to be done, not only in recipient countries but also in donor countries, if the parliament is to be actively be engaged in the different aid cycles, from policy-making to implementation and review. Donor parliaments should, for instance, monitor the donor government's effective adherence to, and action on, the aid effectiveness agenda. They should, inter alia, urge donor governments to engage at the beginning of the aid cycle with partner parliaments, something which is still too rarely done. Recipient country parliaments too often remain marginalised on development support agreements and implementation, despite their importance for citizens. 

In countries where local accountability mechanisms have not yet reached maturity, donor parliaments could also advocate for part of the aid to be dedicated to reinforce local accountability institutions such as court of auditors and parliamentary audit mechanisms, including Supreme Audit Institutions - this is particularly relevant when direct budget support is provided. This is not just in the interest of seeing democratic governance flourish, but also simply in the interest of seeing better aid results and the effective, and efficient, use of donor public funds.