البرلمانات والحد من الفقر

صورة AGORA administrator

تُعد البرلمانات التي تمتاز بالقدرة والحيوية ضرورية لعمليات التنمية في البلدان لأنها مؤسسات هامة في تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية وأهداف التنمية الاقتصادية. وتدعم التنمية البرلمانية تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية دعماً مباشراً لأن النواب يمثلون الناخبين الذين يُفترض أن يستفيدوا منها، وهم في الوقت نفسه مسؤولون عن تمرير القوانين التي تضفي الطابع المؤسسي على التغييرات المطلوبة لتلبية الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية.  وينبغي على النواب تمثيل وفهم وإبراز مصالح جميع ناخبيهم ومجتمعاتهم كي تكون التنمية أكثر عدلاً وفعاليةً.  وفي الواقع فإن دور البرلمان النشط في التخطيط للحد من الفقر يعزز المشاركة المجتمعية الأكثر شمولاً في التنمية الاقتصادية.    

                   

 

ويمكن حينئذٍ للبرامج التي تطوّر من دور البرلمان في التخطيط للحد من الفقر أن تعزز المشاركة المجتمعية الأكثر الشمولاً في التنمية الاقتصادية.   وتستطيع الجهات الفاعلة البرلمانية أن تستهدف مجالات التنمية المحددة التي تتطلب الإصلاح القانوني أو المزيد من التمويل الحكومي والعمل مع كل من الحكومة والبرلمانيين لتطوير الإرادة السياسية لأجل سن التشريعات أو ضبط موازانات الدولة.  ويمكن للبرلمانيين المساهمة في الجهود الوطنية للحد من الفقر من خلال النظر في نتائج مبادرات مكافحة الفقر وتسليط الضوء عليها، والمشاركة في استحداث مبادرات جديدة لمكافحة الفقر، وتوفير الرقابة على تنفيذ البرامج والمسائل المتعلقة بميزانيتها.

تحسين وعي النواب بالأهداف الإنمائية للألفية يمكن أن يساعد أيضاً في تعزيز دور البرلمانات بشأن الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية.  ويمكن أن تشمل هذه الجهود تحليل ومناقشة كيفية تعزيز البرلمانات الأخرى للأهداف الإنمائية للألفية والمعايير الدولية والإقليمية للتشريع.   وبالمثل، يمكن أيضاً تقديم المعرفة بالأهداف الإنمائية للألفية لموظفي اللجان كي يكونوا على بما يجب القيام به إن/عندما يطلب النواب مثل هذه المعلومات.  كذلك فإن إقامة صلات إعلامية بين اللجان والوزارات المعنية العاملة في قضايا التنمية هي أيضاً وسيلة فعالة لتعزيز الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية. 


وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن البرلمانات في البلدان الغنية  تتحمل مسؤولية تنفيذ كمية ونوعية المساعدات التي يتم توفيرها لبلدان أخرى وذلك بهدف مساعدتها في خططتها الإنمائية وتلك التي تعنى بالحدّ من الفقر. ويجب أن تضمن هذه المعونة دور البرلمانات في البلدان الأخرى لإبراز الحاجة إلى المساءلة المحلية حيال تلك المساعدات.

 

Millenium campaign.org

 

 

End Poverty 2015.org

     
   أيام التنمية الأوروبية 2008

Error message

The file could not be created.

Parliaments & MDGs : Economic Development and Pro-Poor Policies

AGORA administrator's picture

Capable and vibrant parliaments are essential to countries’ development processes because they are important institutions in achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and economic development aims. Parliamentary development directly supports the achievement of the MDGs because MPs represent the very constituents who are supposed to benefit from them while at the same time being responsible for passing the laws that institutionalize the changes required to meet the MDGs. MPs should represent, understand and reflect the interests of all their constituents and communities so that development is more equitable and effective. Indeed an active parliament’s role in poverty-reduction planning fosters a more comprehensive societal participation in economic development.    

                   

Programmes that develop the parliament’s role in poverty reduction planning can then promote more comprehensive societal participation in economic development.  Parliamentary actors can target particular development areas that require legal reform or more state funding and work with both government and parliamentarians to develop political will to enact legislation or adjust state budgets. Parliamentarians can contribute to national poverty reduction efforts by investigating and highlighting the results of anti-poverty initiatives, engaging in the creation of new anti-poverty initiatives, and providing oversight into the implementation and budgetary matters of programs.

Improving MDGs awareness of MPs can also assist strengthening the role of parliaments regarding the MDGs. This effort could include analysis and discussion of how other parliaments have promoted the MDGs and international and regional standards for legislation. Similarly, knowledge on the MDGs could also be offered to committee staff so they know what to do if/when MPs asks for such information. Establishing informational links between the committees and the relevant ministries working on development issues is also an efficient method to foster the MDGs.
Additionally, Parliaments in wealthy countries have a responsibility to ensure implementation of the quantity and quality of aid that is provided to other countries so as to assist them with their development and poverty reduction plans. Such aid must ensure a role for parliaments in the other countries to reflect the need for domestic accountability for such aid.  

 

Millenium campaign.org

 

 

End Poverty 2015.org

     
  European Development Days 2008  

 

Tags: