16th Tibetan Parliament Successfully Concludes Second Session

صورة AGORA moderator

DHARAMSHALA: The second session of the 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile concluded today following nine days of intense deliberations on the situation inside Tibet, the status of Tibetans in exile and the future course of the Tibetan movement led by the Central Tibetan Administration.

The session also featured the presentation of annual reports by the seven departments of the Central Tibetan Administration followed by questions regarding their activities, budgets and implementation of projects.

Speaker Khenpo Sonam Tenphel, delivering the concluding remarks of the session, gave a brief overview of the proceedings. He emphasised the importance of engaging in discussions based in reason and logic instead of resorting to personal attacks and filibustering during parliamentary proceedings.

He further appealed all Tibetans to renew their efforts – in their own capacities – to contribute towards the preservation and promotion of the rich Tibetan linguistic heritage, beginning at home within the family to schools, institutions and organisations.

He also assured a strong lobbying campaign by the Tibetan parliament among diplomats and Indian parliamentarians to prioritise the issue of Tibet in their agendas.

The second session of the 16th Tibetan parliament unanimously passed two resolutions: one resolution to condole the demise of Mr Tenzin Gonpo, former member of the Tibetan parliament and one resolution to express solidarity with the sufferings of the Tibetans inside Tibet.

The session also saw the appointment of Dr Ngawang Rabgyal as Justice Commissioner of the Tibetan Supreme Justice Commission and the parliament’s disapproval of Ms Dhardon Sharling as a Kalon of the 15th Kashag after a majority vote on the floor of the parliament.

Due to objection from two members of the parliament, a floor vote was ruled to deliver a verdict of approval following Sikyong Dr Lobsang Sangay’s nomination of Ms Dhardon Sharling as Kalon.

The parliament rejected the nomination by 27 votes to 14 with two abstentions and two absentees out of a total parliament strength of 45.

source: central tibetal administration
link http://tibet.net/2016/09/16th-tibetan-parliament-successfully-concludes-...