Cook Islands Parliament first sitting since elections

AGORA moderator's picture

The Cook Islands Parliament will sit today, the first sitting since the July 9 general election.

The caretaker prime minister Henry Puna is expected to name the Speaker, and if supported by the majority of the MPs, the Speaker will be sworn in by the Queens Representative Tom Marsters at Government House.

New Members of Parliament Rose Brown, Willie John, Toka Hagai, Albert Nichollas, Tamaiva Tuavera and Wesley Kareroa will be sworn into Parliament today.

On the order paper is the Income Tax Amendment Bill which if passed today will allow the Government to return money seized from the bank accounts of pensioners last Christmas.

SOURCE: Radio New Zealand, October 9th: